Review of AMDRO® PowerFlex® Pest & Weed System

Disclaimer: As a BzzAgent, I’m occasionally sent free samples, in exchange for an honest review, on behalf of a current campaign that I am a good fit for based upon the company’s needs and my survey answers. My opinions are honest. I can not guarantee you will have the same results and so am not responsible for any reason. Follow my advice at your own risk..

Here is product information via the BzzAgent campaign page:

  • The AMDRO® PowerFlex® Pest & Weed System battery-powered sprayer automatically combines concentrate from the cartridge with water from the tank, so you get perfectly combined solution every time, with no wasted water or concentrate
  • One four-ounce cartridge makes one full gallon of spray
  • There’s a cartridge for any weed or pest job:
  • Lawn Weed Killer Concentrate
  • Weed & Grass Killer Concentrate
  • Home Pest Control Indoor Insect Killer Concentrate
  • Yard & Perimeter Outdoor Insect Killer Concentrate
  • It takes only seconds to go from killing weeds outdoors to killing pests indoors — Simply take out the cartridge, press and hold the trigger for 10 seconds to flush the sprayer with water from the tank and twist in a new cartridge.
  • Cleanup is a breeze: Simply take out the cartridge, press and hold the trigger for 10 seconds to flush the sprayer with water from the tank and snap partially used cartridges into the convenient storage area on the back of the system.
  • No measuring, mixing and mess to clean limits consumer exposure
  • Battery-powered sprayer controls dilution and leaves no leftover solution, limiting over-application and chemical waste
  • AMDRO® PowerFlex® is better for the environment using less fuel to ship concentrated refill cartridges than ready-to-use pest and weed control products
  • Available at Walmart, Home Depot, and select retailers
  • Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price: $14.99 Sprayer, $11.99 Refills

Learn more via the Amdro Website: http://www.amdro.com/powerflex

The AMDRO® PowerFlex® Pest & Weed System arrived safely in a large cardboard box sealed with Bzz Agent branded tape. Inside the box were the items needed for my review:

Everything that came in the box: AMDRO® PowerFlex® Pest & Weed System, $4 off coupons + batteries inside sprayer, 4 assorted cartridges + 1 on the bottle, Full page instructions & chemical safety data and BuzzAgent Guide for Amdro Powerflex.

 Upon inspection, everything seemed well made considering it is made for bug and weed control. I’ve found some systems to be cheaply made. In the case of Amdro, I seemed that everything was well planned in the design. I watched a few videos online and browsed current reviews. Many of the current reviews mentioned issues with leaks, the chemicals not properly mixing, or the sprayer not functioning at all. With that in mind, it was time to test out the system and form my own opinion! Knowing I’d be reviewing this product, I first allowed the grass & weeds to grow freely on my sidewalk. I also had to wait for days of rain to subside before I could even attempt to test the product for a review.

Setup:

To begin to use this system, you fill the white tank with water. This can be done inside or outside. Since I’d not used the system yet, I opted to fill up inside. Once the water has reached the fill line (holds one gallon) you attach the sprayer by removing the safety sticker and inserting the hose snugly.  Mine didn’t want to fully engage, so I was concerned there would be leaking or issues with suction, but there wasn’t. To use the chemicals, you literally ‘choose your poison’. Then remove the cap and insert the cartridge in the base of the sprayer’s handle. There is a seal that will move once you insert the cartridge allowing it to mix the chemicals with the water. It’s quick and simple! I didn’t even get my hands dirty. Of course, I still washed them again to be safe!

To use the chemicals, you literally ‘choose your poison’.

For my test, I chose the weed & grass killer. I felt it would be the most effective of the four to try. I needed something strong, for my sidewalk. Since I have indoor and outdoor pets, I wasn’t ready to test out the safety of using the insect & pest killer. There is always a chance that a pet could ingest a treated pest and suffer ill effects or worse. I plan to allow a friend/family to use it and hope to update this review with their results.

Ease of use:

Overall, considering this is a chemical product designed for weed & pest elimination I think it did well. Setup could’ve used more clear instructions. I didn’t have any issues, but some people might. Even so, setup was easy and took less than 5mins once everything was out of the box and ready. The sprayer had batteries which worked and lasted my entire session. It maintained it’s pressure the entire time until the water ran low. At that time, there was still about an inch of unused water that would not come up the sprayer despite using other angles. The good news is, there was still half of the cartridge left. Much more than I’d expected while using it. I felt kinda cool walking around and shooting weeds. Like a weed zapping rockstar. It became addicting to find another weed. Then, after about 30 minutes of heavy weed destruction, the flaw in the design was apparent. Two flaws to be exact. I have carpal tunnel. For someone like me, extended usage of my wrists can be extremely painful. The sprayer desperately needs a way to ‘lock’ in on or off. To be able to spray larger areas without constantly holding the button would be a luxury. Also, I felt that the handle wasn’t very well designed for the way it would be held. I frequently had to sit down the container and reposition or switch hands. Otherwise, the system was very easy to use and maintained flawless application with no leaks during the entire application.

Results:

I was excited and eagerly expecting results overnight. Instead of waking to find the forlorn corpses of weeds, there was no change in appearance for two days. One the third day, slight yellowing began to occur. In total, results took over a week to fully kill treated grass & weeds. Despite thoroughly double soaking the area, there were still places where the weeds or grass did not die or fade. Of course, we’ve had a large amount of rain in the weeks before and after treatment, so it’s possible that affected the effectiveness. It is also possible that I missed application of these areas, for once we mowed and used a Wead Eater, you could clearly see what areas survived were small in comparison to our initial assumptions. The parts that did die, weren’t dry and crunchy so required the mowing.  Thankfully, unlike with Round Up, Amdro has not killed any surrounding vegetation as of the date of this posting. I’d previously used Round-Up on this same sidewalk and lost a 6ft+ Redbud tree that had been growing nearby. Not cool.

So final verdict, I would purchase the Amdro system for basic weed and grass control, but not if I required results immediately. If you need a self-spraying solution with quick change cartridges, then Amdro is a great option for weed killing rockstars of all ages (except children of course!). Despite the delayed reaction, I was pleased with the results and now plan to ‘retouch’ the missed areas. Thankfully, the Amdro system is quick and easy to use, so I don’t feel like I’d dreading having to hook up my system and reapply which is great! As a result, I do recommend the purchase of the Amdro system.

Photos of my experience:

My sidewalk after allowing grass to grow several weeks prior to receiving the Amdro products to review.

My sidewalk after allowing grass to grow several weeks prior to receiving the Amdro products to review.

Grass & weeds on my sidewalk yellowing three days after application, after allowing grass to grow several weeks prior to receiving the Amdro products to review.

Grass & weeds on my sidewalk yellowing three days after application. You can clearly see some areas avoiding death.

About a week after application of Amdro. Yard was mowed & sidewalk mowed to better show results. All was dead except a few small areas, so am now believing that I may have missed a few spots.

About a week after application of Amdro. Yard was mowed & sidewalk mowed to better show results. All was dead except a few small areas, so am now believing that I may have missed a few spots.

Final review as seen on social media and retail websites: “I recommend! I’d tried the weed & grass killer rather than pest chemicals due to worry about our pets safety as pest ingestion is possible. Although I was initially disappointed due to expecting results overnight, I was pleased with the product when grasses & weeds were dead after a week later. Amdro’s system gave me no real issues except aggravating my carpal tunnel by having to hold in the spray button during application of large areas which is why I only gave 4 stars. It would be nice to have been able to ‘lock’ the trigger. Otherwise, I had no leaks, only used less than half the bottle for a 1 gallon bottle across a large area. No surrounding vegetation was killed as of yet. Cleanup and reusing the product was simple. A received this product free via BuzzAgent for the purpose of a review. Read my blog for photos and full details: http://bit.ly/10oxgnN”

Comment?

